Category Archives: Peace Poster Contest

Peace Poster Competition

Lion Allan Donaldson of the Lions Club of de Grendel is pictured here with Chad from Tafelberg School with his Peace Poster Contest entry.   Well done Chad!

Numerous schools in the District took part in the Content and pupils were asked to paint a poster entitled “The Future of Peace”.

The three winners of the contest were as follows:

1st Prize:  Tala Wiese

Tala represented Kenridge Primary  School and her entry was submitted by the Lions Club of Durbanville.  Her poster used striking images and symbols, was well executed and had universal appeal. The key to unlock the cage with the dove ensures future peace and it was well illustrated and enforced the overall message. All nations and cultures were represented and the blue tones used at the face made it inclusive.

2nd Prize Winner – Shaun Kawaxamab  

Shaun is 12 years old and represents  Tsumeb English Medium  School.  His entry was submitted by the Lions Club of Tsumeb. His poster was extremely well executed and designed and included various peace symbols such as national flags, hands, an olive branch and a doves in flight symbolising the future of peace.

3rd Prize Winner – Jocelyn Kane-Smith

Joceyln is 13 years old and represents  Springfield Convent. Her entry was submitted by the Lions Club of Newlands.  Jocelyn’s poster was thought out around the topic where the page is turned to peace.

The Multiple District judging took place at the Lions Club of Gordons Bay at the 2nd Council meeting on Saturday 18 November 201

1st place – District 410A – R4000

Tala Wiese – Age 13 years

Kenridge Primary School

Entry submitted by the Lions Club of Durbanville

2nd place – District 410D – R3000

Kaylene Govender – Age 13 years

Erica Girls Primary School

Entry submitted by Port Elizabeth Cape Recife

3rd place – District 410C – R2000

Sharaav Dhebideen – Age 13 years

Umkomaas Primary School

Entry submitted by the Lions Club of Scottburgh

4th place- District 410B – R1000

Mone’ J van Rensberg – Age 13 years

Laerskool Goudkop

Entry submitted by the Lions Club of Klerksdorp

Essay Contest – 2 entries

1st place – District 410B – R4000

Abdul Gani – Age13 years

Potchefstroom Central School

Entry submitted by the Lions Club of Potchefstroom

2nd place – District 410A – R3000

Kayla Fitchart – Age 12 years

Athlone School for the Blind

Entry submitted by the Lions Club of Gordon’s Bay

Congratulations and well done to all the participants. The posters were absolutely stunning this

year. Please inform clubs in your District of the winners.

The outcome of the LCI contest will be known in February 2018


Please share this...Email this to someonePrint this pagePin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on LinkedInTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook